Event Profile

SM-2019 February Accounting Accreditation Seminar Tampa

February 7, 2019
Hilton Tampa Downtown
211 North Tampa Street
Tampa, FL 33602 

Sessions information is not available at this time.

Anderson Urton L.
Organization: University of Kentucky

Urton is EY Professor and Director of Von Allmen School of Accountancy at the University of Kentucky. His research has addressed various issues in internal and external auditing and organizational governance – particularly compliance, enterprise risk management and internal control. In addition to numerous articles, he has written four books, several of which have been translated into French, Spanish, Chinese, and Japanese. Professor Anderson has been involved in the AAA Audit Section throughout his career. He has served President of the Section (2009-2010). Urton Anderson also is active in the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). He has been Chair of the Institute’s Board of Regents (2003-2007) and Chair of the Internal Auditing Standards Board (2002-2003 and 2007-2010). In 1997 he was named Leon R. Radde Educator of the Year Award by the IIA. In 2006, the IIA recognized his outstanding contributions to the field of internal auditing by giving him The Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award. He served as the Chair of the IIA’s Committee of Research and Education from 2011-2015 and is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of the Internal Audit Foundation. In March 2016 Urton was one of four internal audit leaders from business, government, and academia to make up the 2016 class of the American Hall of Distinguished Audit Practitioners. The honor, established in 2011, annually recognizes individuals who contributed significantly to the profession throughout their careers. Urton also serves on the Board of Directors for the Society of Corporate Compliance and Ethics/Health Care Compliance Association and currently serves as its President (2016-2017). From 2011-2012 Urton was as an Academic Fellow in the Office of the Chief Accountant of the U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

Davis Jon S.
Organization: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Jon S. Davis is the Robert C. Evans Endowed Chair in Business and Interim Director of the Institute of Government and Public Affairs at the University of Illinois System. He previously served as Department Head in Accountancy at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is a CPA in Arizona (retired status) and he worked at Deloitte in tax before pursuing his Ph.D. at University of Arizona. Before rejoining the faculty at Illinois for the third time, he was a professor at University of Wisconsin-Madison and University of Colorado-Boulder. Professor Davis' teaching is primarily in the tax area, and he has also taught cost accounting and auditing. His research has addressed topics in auditing and tax, including compliance in regulatory environments, fraud, tax policy, and judgment and decision making in public accounting. His research employs methods and theories from psychology, sociology, evolutionary biology and game theory.

Mauldin Shawn
Organization: Mississippi State University

Shawn Mauldin is the director of the Adkerson School of Accountancy and professor of accounting at Mississippi State University. He received his BS and MBA degrees from Nicholls State University and his PhD from the University of Mississippi. He is a licensed CPA in Mississippi and holds the CMA and CFP designations. Prior to Mississippi State, he served as chair of the Department of Accounting and dean of the College of Business at Nicholls State University where he held the Cenac Chair in Accounting. As dean at Nicholls, he led the efforts for initial accounting accreditation and provided the leadership to develop an executive MBA program, an online general business degree program, and a maritime management program. Mauldin has published 45 academic and practitioner articles. He received the Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award from the Louisiana Society of CPAs in 2006. He served on the society’s board for 4 years and as president in 2012. He has served on the AICPA Council, the AICPA’s pre-certification committee, and the Southern Business Deans Association board. He currently serves on AACSB’s Accounting Accreditation Committee as Chair and on the Mississippi Society of CPA’s Board. Mauldin has chaired several initial accounting accreditation peer review teams and served as a team member for several accounting and business continuous improvement reviews.

Reid Robert D.
Organization: AACSB International

Robert Reid serves as a senior executive advisor, focusing on quality assurance, quality improvement and digital learning projects. He was AACSB's chief accreditation officer from 2012-2017. During his tenure, the business accreditation standards were significantly revised, accreditation staff were globally deployed, the Accounting Accreditation Task Force proposed significant improvements in accreditation standards and processes. Prior to joining AACSB, he served 15 years as James Madison University's business dean, leading 150 faculty and staff recognized for excellence in curriculum innovation, especially in the areas of curriculum integration and experiential learning. Before serving as dean, he was the department head of marketing and hospitality management and J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott professor. Reid has facilitated numerous consulting engagements with public and private sector organizations. He has co-authored six editions of Hospitality Marketing Management published by John Wiley & Sons, was a contributing author to three other books and co-author of an article selected by The Cornell Hospitality Quarterly as article of the year. He is a past president of Beta Gamma Sigma.

Sponsor information is not available at this time.